Day 6: Fort Pierce (Lisa Fasnacht) to Melbourne

Posted: March 17, 2014 in America: Miami to San Francisco

Lisa Fasnacht

image

Head at 7am as trip is not as long today, 50 miles rather than 60. Said goodbye to Lisa and headed up the coast and waiting on sunrise

image

Met some Brits in Vero Beach on my coffee stop and they gave me $10 for lunch and a retired couple $5 for a coffee. Chatted about volunteering, teaching, overseas work, sports and fund raising for 20 minutes then headed on. They both seemed particularly excited about the charities I’m cycling for and promised to visit the sponsorship page and donate.

Wabasso Beach for my lunch break marks half way between Fort Pierce and Fort Melbourne, thanks to Ray Brubacker. He said I needed to get a move on because a storm was due in at 1pm which was going to drop a lot of water and 70 mph winds.. My arrival time should be 12 although I should press on. By the way I learn a new expression, “it’s gonna rain bowling balls and boulders!”

I loved this picture in the toilet.. Small minds are easily entertained 🙂

image

Arrived in Melbourne and celebrating with double chocolate doughnuts.. Calorific bliss.

Last 45 minutes cycle out into the prestigious ‘leafy’ suburbs for a luxurious nights sleep and a dinner. Although with a large storm gathering ominously overhead I doubt it will be a quiet night!

Expenditure $8.19

Leave a Reply

