Day 14: Shady Grove to Tallahassee

Posted: March 25, 2014 in America: Miami to San Francisco

Again another tough goodbye this morning, I felt a lot of love and generosity from Benny and Sandy. You won’t meet a nicer couple this side of heaven. I struggle to express my gratitude for everything they did for me these last 48 hours so for now I’ll just have to say “thanks” and pray we cross paths again sometime soon.

Cold out as I hit the road out of Shady Grove, cycling toward the junction onto state Route 19 heading north west.

Peanut and drink stop at 7.49, that reminds me I got to get some wigglers

image

image

It’s 9.15 am I’ve covered 25 miles in 2 hours 2 minutes and I’ve got 20-25 miles to go. I am looking at an arrival in Tallahassee no later than 12. Time for a chilli dog with mustard and pickle, $1 well spent care of Eileen and Pat

image

Spring colours in full bloom as I pedal along. Not had my morning coffee yet so looking forward to finding a Starbucks

It’s fair to say I don’t THINK I hate anything, although cycling up a slope with gusts of up to 25 mph I’m my patience.

YOU KNOW IT’S WINDY WHEN YOU HAVE TO CYCLE DOWNHILL TO KEEP GOING… Aaaaargh

Tallahassee is hilly! On the upside I arrived and found a Burger King.. Chatted to the manager and my $1.69 (Ā£1) got me a whopper, bacon double cheese burgers, large fries and unlimited soda oh and a Hersey double chocolate fudge cheesecake… That’ll learn me some calories šŸ™‚

Stopped at Atomic Coffee for a caffeine hit, chatted about the charities I’m cycling for.

image

atomiccoffee.org for those of you who wish to look it up.

It’s been a cooler more blustery day today, tomorrow I think will be slightly colder… Although I’m not sure Florida really does COLD like England does šŸ˜‰

Headed out for a sightseeing tour minus pannier bags, I’ve rediscovered speed at last… Whooooosh
image

image

image

Time for pizza, a cold beer and bed

Expenditure $9.19

Comments
  1. Benny says:

    Pictures looked very good. It was so nice to have you with us for 2 days. Looking until we meet again here or there. God bless and keep you safe. Benny & Sandy

  2. Hey Benny and Sandy miss you guys already šŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

