Day 20: Pensacola to Grand Bay, AL

Posted: April 1, 2014 in America: Miami to San Francisco

image

Goodbye Jeb, and I’m on my way again. Heading west to Dauphin Island today. 60 miles with a slight tail wind.

Leaving Pensacola, Florida and crossing the bridge into Alabama

image

image

image

Welcome to ALABAMA

image

Making great progress today, 10 miles hammered out in no time at all. Found a garage selling unlimited soda for $0.69 so taking on as much fluid as possible.

According to the weather forecast it is going to remain bright and sunny, highs of 22 degrees, with a light tail wind of 6 mph = Ideal

Heading west on 20

image

image

Sorry couldn’t choose which photo I preferred, comes below and I’ll delete the least popular

image

Rather nice flowers running along a 5 mile stretch or road as I pass by.

image

Heading along the inland lagoon into Gulf Springs, Alabama

Almost at Fort Morgan ferry, so thought I’d take a quick 10 minute rest under this lovely looking tree.

image

Dam it, arrived and ferry pulled out 15 minutes before I arrived! Sods law I guess, still gives me an hour to relax and rest my legs while I wait for the next one.

image

Nice period style ticket office and cafe

image

image

image

image

I have decided to push on to Grand Bay tonight because I want to take advantage of the tail wind, and make use of a warm shower and meal care of warm shower hosts 🙂

Below is the 8 mile bridge that connects Dauphin Island with the mainland, it seemed to go on and on.

image

image

Arrive at 8pm, 100 miles covered and really hungry. Today was my personal best – I have never cracked the magic ton before – super glad

Time for pizza and sleep, can’t be bothered with a shower, as I’ve spent most the evening chatting with hosts.

Expenditure $15.97

Comments
  1. I almost wish I was biking with you. Check out this blog when you get a chance. http://bensauer.blogspot.com/ It will really touch your heart. I am glad the weather is better for you and you are getting help from a tail wind.

Leave a Reply

