Day 24: Baton Rouge to Opelousis

Posted: April 5, 2014 in America: Miami to San Francisco

Morning stop at Starbucks – Baton Rouge for my 4 shot espresso macciato.

image

Staff laughed at me because they thought I was the ONLY cyclist in the city AND that I was EVEN OUT when it was drizzling rain!

Maybe I should quit the charity cycle and buy a BIG 5.7 hemi truck and do my bit for the environment 🙂

Spring is here as I switch lights off

image

Lilacs and pinks… Reminds me of the French Quarter in New Orleans!

Rain hit so stopped by a bike shop for a mud guard (fender for Americans reading) and they wanted $20. I refused and went to a home stores (DIY shop for Brit readers) and bought a bit of plastic for $1 and made my own.

Crossing the Mississippi, it’s going to be a big bridge!

image

Progress today is dreadful, not due to head wind, but the condition of the roads. I’m actually quite shocked! I can only manage 30 minutes at 8 mph before stopping, my joints (mainly wrists) are extremely sore from getting shaken/jarred continuously. Last 3 days since arriving in Louisiana  have been awful from the onset, particularly so today. I’m concerned at possible damage I may be doing.

The bike lane I gave up on as it EVEN worse, totally un-cyclable, so I’m playing chicken on the white line with angry truck drivers and big rigs…

Stopped at a service station for a toilet break and was chatting with the guy stacking shelves. He enquired into my cycle ride and narrated status. I told him I was unmarried and he replied,

“Dam brother yo gotta play some new baby every night. I swear dem honeys gonna luv you from England and all”

This is not exactly verbatim

Strawberry stop:

image

Toilet stop and strawberry cheesecake:

image

I’ve be routed off Ronald Regan Highway 190 for a 5 mile stretch and have the whole road to myself… Bliss

image

Crossing the Atchafalaya River:

image

image

Billy’s Diner in Krotz Springs:

“That coffee was fresh… Two days ago!”

“Hell Josie there’s enough fishing in me for the two of us!”

image

One of the waitresses had NEVER met an English man before, I sensed through her giggles and blushing like, she wasn’t disappointed when we were talking.

Last 10 miles ahead so found a fire station for a break in the shade. Looking forward to a day off tomorrow, I really need it!

Made it!

Expenditure $18.48

Comments
  1. sanbenacres2 says:

    Glad things are good OK. Sorry you had rough roads. Hope and pray more people will continue to help you out. We took a lot of our junk to a big garage sale in Valdosta, GA this morning. Got rid of a lot of stuff and what didn’t sale we gave to a Christian organization to help pregnant women. We made $180. Every little bit helps. I clean the Christmas shed up. It looks great and we have more room now. I have had a very busy week since Wednesday. I am ready to crash. God Bless you. Hope you will be able to find a good church to go to tomorrow. Will continue to pray for you. Sandy

Leave a Reply

