Day 29: Beaumont (Jeff E) to Spring

Posted: April 10, 2014 in America: Miami to San Francisco

Goodbye Jeff E (I wanted to take your black cat with me!)

image

8.30am and time to leave after a superb sleep. I really am not looking forward to the ride today after yesterday’s slog. I sincerely hope I have an easier day, as I have 90 miles to cover today.

I’ve left too late, had to go via bike shop for tubes, now 10.45 and not cycling. No way I can do Spring today as it’s an 8 hour cycle. Am planning campsites along the 90 instead. At least the wind is minimal!

This bike had some SERIOUSLY huge tyres

image

22 miles in and cruising, no wind and smooth tarmacked road. Stopping every 30 minutes for 5 minutes to hydrate. Left my water bottles at a hosts house so no way to carry any until I buy some more!

Stopped in Dever after 33 miles so far, averaging 13.5 mph, stopping for 30 minutes as I’m starting to feel the effects of the sun! Pretty happy today in comparison to yesterday. Thanks for the high pressure air line inflate my slow flat!

image

I left the highway 90 and joined county road 1960. Enjoyed a tail wind from Dayton to Spring, almost half the total mike’s covered. Legs and head feel fresh!

Arrived at 8.15 feeling pretty good and READY TO EAT

Expenditure $17.25

Comments
  1. mikebike says:

    Still waiting for the New Orleans observations you promised on day 23…. 🙂

  2. Ha ha ha ok I need to get on with that 😉

Leave a Reply

