Day 58: Yuma to Ocotillo, CA

Posted: May 9, 2014 in America: Miami to San Francisco

Many thanks Emerlion and Devin for a couple of great nights rest and relaxation.

Goodbye Arizona… Hello California!

My new road today, which was 10 miles of wrist destruction… Cracks, gaps, rocks, holes. To quote James Bond,

“Skaken not stirred”

image

Finally the much famed sand dunes and a sign I’d never noticed before:

image

image

See you soon San Diego! Help please artistic people, should the focus be on my hand or the sign? I’m a numpty when it comes to these sorts of creative decisions – talk to me about the aesthetics šŸ˜‰

image

image

I was planning to stop in El Centro but arriving at 12.30, it felt too early to pack up for the day, so I reloaded on calories and kicked on the extra 27 miles to Ocotillo.

Progress:

3.05 hours 40.4 miles

4.04 hours 54.1 miles

5.02 hours 70.0 miles

6.00 hours 88.4 miles

Arrived in Ocotilo and look what I found in the bar! Were they a mirage after a long day cycling in the sun!? Drive safe girls and DON’T GET YOURSELF D.U.I.

image

Expenditure $19.84

Leave a Reply

