10 days and all is well…

Posted: February 17, 2015 in Saudi Arabia

Bahrain – locally known as the ‘toilet/cesspool of Saudi’ – due mainly to large numbers of Saudi men who go there to get drunk, sleep with prostitutes, take drugs and party. Activities that in Saudi Arabia would see them publicly lashed, imprisoned or in some case, stoned to death. It seems like rather a farce to me. Hundreds of men queuing in cars, waiting for hours, to drive across the 30 mile bridge, passing through border patrol for the night ONLY to drive back the morning <or usually afternoon> the following day. A simple blood alcohol test would suffice to prove their ‘western, hedonistic, immoral’ activities – but border patrol/Saudi authorities choose to turn a blind eye to this blatant ‘non-Muslim’ behaviour? Seems a bit hypocritical to me, especially for all the married men making the trip. Or perhaps men go there for the great fishing or better air quality 😉 Some prospective in-laws with check a male suitors passport for entry/exit stamps into Bahrain before allowing him to marry their daughter. Although in my mind I question why the Father of the potential bride would know the significance of trips to Bahrain… through personal experience perhaps…..?

veil1

Yes, I can confirm I have a photo of an attractive western gentleman

Ordering my burger and chips from Paprika – a fast food chain <think McDonalds with more flavour> – I noticed a group of girls/woman in full niqabs in the queue opposite. In Saudi men and woman have separate lines in the shops. Out the corner of my eye I caught a glimpse of one of them sneaking to my side and slightly behind me and start taking pictures of the handsome, well dressed, western man. Returning to her gaggle or black letter boxed girl friends they then proceed to gather around her iphone and giggle as they pursued said images. For a  moment I felt like a rock star

Our driver ran over my co-workers foot this morning on the way to work. I assume he thought he was in the car, as I did, as he pulled away – right over his left foot. No breaks we think but a close call nonetheless!

Will need to talk to students later today about behaviour and attitude to study. Basically a large percentage do not want to engage in lessons or do any work. Apparently this is not an uncommon attitude of young boys in Saudi who are often idolised by their parents – rarely disciplined, pushed to achieve or told what to do. One parent when delivering his son said, “good luck teaching him!” NOT really what you want to hear in a new placement or a ringing endorsement of his son’s expected future behaviour in my class 😦

Comments
  1. Sandy says:

    You sure have a big challenge. Praying God will use you to impact lives to surrender to the True God. And that they will want to be educated so they will make good choices in life. Also, praying for your safety. God Bless you!

  2. Sandy says:

    Forgot to tell you I got off face book. I would post things but sometimes it would cause me to waste a lot of time on there. Plus I was not sure about its safety. I don’t want anyone to hack into my computer. I only use emails to communicate.

Leave a Reply

