If a society is going to use capital punishment…..

Posted: March 1, 2015 in Saudi Arabia

which should method should it employ?

I have listened, observed and joined the global outrage over the past 12 months about the behaviour, attitude and beliefs of the group calling themselves ISIS/ISIL/IS.  I am disgusted with their callous disregard for human life, their brutality shown towards hostages/innocent civilians, their treatment of captured young woman/girls and their betrayal of the basic fundamentals of law and order, due process and justice.

Having seen several of their public executions <real or staged> it is clear that several hundred have died at the hands of ISIS members – some armed military personnel, others opposing militia groups, some civilians caught in the middle and a few aid workers who were trying to help the humanitarian crisis in the region.

One question that rattles around in my mind is,

“Has America so perfected the social model to sit on a pedestal – claiming EXCEPTIONALISM – and to export her values, morals and ideas of justice to the rest of the world?”

Let’s consider the way America punishes the worst of it’s criminals in comparison to my current country of residence – Saudi Arabia.

Macnair

 

Beheading (Saudi Arabia – inhumane)

Many in the west rail against the barbarity of beheading as a method of public execution – a primitive, bloody, inhumane method from the dark ages

However beheading  can be one of the quickest and least painful ways to die – so long as the executioner is skilled, his blade sharp, and the condemned sits still.

A study in rats in 1991 found that it takes 2.7 seconds for the brain to consume the oxygen from the blood in the head; the equivalent figure for humans has been calculated at 7 seconds.

Electrocution (U S of A: Alabama, Florida, South Carolina, Kentucky and Virginia – humane)

Sat in the public viewing room, behind a one way mirror and a curtain, the family of the victim, defense/prosecuting attorneys and ‘interested parties’ sit as the switch is flipped.

1. August 10, 1982. Virginia – Frank Coppola took two 55-second jolts of electricity to kill him, the second jolt produced the odor and sizzling sound of burning flesh, and Coppola’s head and leg caught on fire. Smoke filled the death chamber from floor to ceiling with a smoky haze

In analysis in 2005 of post-mortem remains from 43 prisoners sentenced to death by electrocution found the most common visible injuries to be head and leg burns where the electrodes were attached.

It also further suggested that that the thick, insulating bones of the skull would prevent sufficient current from reaching the brain, and prisoners could instead be dying from heating of the brain, or perhaps from suffocation due to paralysis of the breathing muscles

http://www.deathpenaltyinfo.org/some-examples-post-furman-botched-executions

Lethal Injection (U S of A – humane)

Again sat in the public viewing room, spectators see a  combination of three drugs: sodium thiopental (a barbiturate to induce anesthesia), pancuronium bromide (a muscle relaxant that paralyzes all the muscles of the body) and potassium chloride (a salt that speeds the heart until it stops) injected into the convict.

Lethal injection can cause excruciating pain.

Since the first lethal injection on December 7, 1982, over 1,000 prisoners in the USA have been executed by this method, some executions have lasted between 20 minutes to over an hour and prisoners have been seen gasping for air, grimacing and convulsing during executions.

42. Sept. 15, 2009. Ohio. Romell Broom. Attempted Lethal Injection. Efforts to find a suitable vein and to execute Mr. Broom were terminated after more than two hours when the executioners were unable to find a useable vein in Mr. Broom’s arms or legs. During the failed efforts, Mr. Broom winced and grimaced with pain. After the first hour’s lack of success, on several occasions Broom tried to help the executioners find a good vein. “At one point, he covered his face with both hands and appeared to be sobbing, Ohio Governor Ted Strickland ordered the execution to stop, and announced plans to attempt the execution anew after a one-week delay so that physicians could be consulted for advice on how the man could be killed more efficiently.

Photo taken after death sentence was delayed after no suitable vein could be found.

SECOND-EXECUTION

46.  July 23, 2014.  Arizona. Joseph R. Wood.  Lethal Injection.  After the chemicals were injected, Mr. Wood repeatedly gasped for one hour and 40 minutes before death was pronounced.

I am a member of the ‘save Buckbeack’ campaign… are you?

Harry_Potter_Buckbeak

So my personal thoughts of the issue of capital punishment – simple really – I will quote the words of another….

John 8

But Jesus went to the Mount of Olives. Early in the morning He came again into the temple, and all the people were coming to Him; and He sat down and began to teach them. The scribes and the Pharisees brought a woman caught in adultery, and having set her in the center of the court, they said to Him,

“Teacher, this woman has been caught in adultery, in the very act. “Now in the Law Moses commanded us to stone such women; what then do You say?”

They were saying this, testing Him, so that they might have grounds for accusing Him. But Jesus stooped down and with His finger wrote on the ground. But when they persisted in asking Him, He straightened up, and said to them,

“He who is without sin among you, let him be the first to throw a stone at her.”

Again He stooped down and wrote on the ground. When they heard it, they began to go out one by one, beginning with the older ones, and He was left alone, and the woman, where she was, in the center of the court.

Straightening up, Jesus said to her,

“Woman, where are they? Did no one condemn you?”

She said,

“No one, Lord.”

And Jesus said,

“I do not condemn you, either. Go. From now on sin no more.”

Comments
  1. Sandy says:

    Very powerful. I want to obey Jesus too. Praying for you. Pray for me too. I strained my back and side mussels moving a heavy wheel barrow. I was doing fine until I went to park it next to the back door full of wood. It had to do with leverage and how I tried to park it. It is the middle of my back on the right side. I have been hurting for 5 days. I am taking some mussel relaxer pills and some pain pills. Since I am old, I think it will take a while for it to heal up. I need to be smarter in the choices I make. I want to stay strong and healthy, plus be wiser in the choices I make so I can do more things for Christ. I don’t want to end up in a nursing home. It will probably take me about 6 weeks to heal up. God Bless you.
    Love and prayers,
    Sandy

    • You probably just need to take it a little easier that’s all – I’ve had to learn to 🙂 Get well soon

      • Sandy says:

        Thanks. I will call tomorrow and see if I can get an appointment with the doctor. Going to bed now. Hope the pain lightens up so I will get a good night sleep.

      • Pulled muscled more than likely… Sore for a week. I’ll pray it’s not ligament or tendon x x x

      • Sandy says:

        Thank you. A pulled muscle will heal faster. I sure hope I haven’t torn a ligament or tendon. They take 6 to 8 weeks to heal.

      • Sandy says:

        I went to the doctor yesterday. He said I have shingles. The pain was from the start of them then I had red bumps with bobbies. I thought they were from a reaction to a pain patch that I put on my skin. He said no. I had shingles. Now I am on meds. The sharp pains are gone, but I still have skin discomfort. I go back to see him in a week. He said I should take the vaccine shot this summer. I didn’t think I could get them because I didn’t remember getting chickenpox. He said I might have had a light case of them and didn’t notice them when I was a kid. I am weaker now and have to rest more. I hope the meds get rid of this condition. I know some people get them and they last a month. Thanks for your prayers. And I am still praying for you!

      • Glad you have had a diagnosis… No get well x

Leave a Reply

